Honey Mustard Dressing

DSCF8127

Note:  I apologize in advance to you non-migraineurs for the simplicity of this recipe.  As someone who does get migraines from ingredients included in most salad dressings (red wine vinegar, cheese, tomatoes, yeast extract, additives, etc.), the simplicity is a blessing for me.  It has opened up many salad options as well as sparked some ideas for main courses.  Stay tuned for more….

When I was fixing a salad for my lunch the other day, I happened to look again at the ingredients of the dressing I had decided must be migraine-safe because I wanted to use it.  For some reason, I thought that an olive oil and vinegar salad dressing that wasn’t reddish would use distilled white vinegar rather than red wine vinegar.  How wrong I was!  Both that dressing and the one my daughter had been using contain red wine vinegar, and red wine vinegar can cause migraines.

Since I am still experiencing occasional head pain, I decided right then and there that I would have to find another option.   As my salad awaited its dressing on the counter, I stood at the refrigerator considering my options.  My husband’s Catalina beckoned from the shelf as the only apparent option.  Besides the fact that I really don’t like Catalina, the ingredient list includes tomatoes, soy, and multiple chemical additives.  What else was there?

It occurred to me that once upon a time, I had eaten honey mustard dressing on a salad at a restaurant.  Could I make honey mustard dressing? Could it be as simple as mixing honey and mustard together?  Hungry and bereft of any other ideas.  I took out the yellow mustard and the honey and mixed some together.  It was a little thicker than I would have been able to spoon across my salad easily, so I added some olive oil.  Voilà!  It worked, and it was delicious!

While you could vary the amount of each of the 3 ingredients so that this works for you, here is my recipe.  Actually, to be completely honest, I measured the ingredients for this post, but I usually just squeeze the bottles until the mixture looks right and stir it all together:)  I am working on some other recipes that would use this dressing, but for right now, I just use it on salad.  I hope it is an option that works for you migraineurs searching for what to do with your salads.

Honey Mustard Dressing

DSCF8127

1 Tbsp. yellow mustard
1/2 Tbsp. honey
1/2 Tbsp. olive oil

  1. Stir all ingredients together.
  2. Spoon over salad.
  3. Refrigerate leftovers.

Leave a Reply

