Chicken Tacos with Mango Salsa

Chicken Tacos with Mango Salsa pic

Oh, I miss my burritos!  I think of the beans with the melted cheese topped with salsa made from tomatoes, onions, and red wine vinegar, and I yearn for it.  However, the pain is worse.  So, I remind myself not to yearn.  That dish is really a plateful of migraine!

I really had been at a loss about how to replace the bean burritos.  One day, my son commented that his Spanish teacher had told him that a beans, cheese, and salsa dish is really “Tex-Mex,” not “Mexican.”  Instead, the Spanish teacher had shown the class tortillas filled with sausage, onion, and cilantro – only.  Well, this was an eye-opener for me!  I realized that I might be able to figure out a replacement if I could just break out of my paradigm of what “Mexican” food was supposed to be.

I tried sausage and spices alone on a corn tortilla as the Spanish teacher recommended, but it was simply too dry for me.  I wrapped fried chicken strips and red peppers in a corn tortilla, but it was also too dry.  All the recipes I could find recommended using salsa, sour cream, or guacamole – which are now off my list.  It looked like I would just have to invent something:)

Recognizing what spices I wanted to include to tantalize my taste buds, I set about my experimentation and have come up with several options.  Some of them are still developing, but these tacos have already been a huge hit in our house.  This migraine-less recipe isn’t really too much of a stretch from typical mango salsa, but it was a stretch for me initially.  When I originally tried mango salsa several years ago, I was not impressed.  It was too sweet.  Necessity has opened my mind to the possibility again, though, and I really like this.  The spices are not quite as hot as I would prefer, but other family members don’t like as much spice as I do.  So, this is a compromise that we can all enjoy.  I hope you do too!

Chicken Tacos with Mango Salsa

Chicken Tacos with Mango Salsa pic

1 chicken breast
1 mango, peeled and diced
1/3 cup red, yellow, or orange sweet bell peppers, diced
1 Tbsp. jalapeno, very finely diced (or more as desired)
1/8 tsp. sea salt
1/2 tsp. garlic powder
1/2 tsp. cilantro
1/4 tsp. red pepper flakes (or more as desired)
4 corn tortillas (see note below)
salad greens (optional)

  1. Bake the chicken breast for 1 hour at 350 degrees or until no pink remains when cut open.
  2. Cut into desired piece sizes.  I cut strips.
  3. Combine the mango, peppers, and spices in a bowl.
  4. Place salad greens, warm chicken, and salsa on warm corn tortillas.

Note: I make my own corn tortillas because our family thinks they taste better, and they have fewer ingredients than purchased tortillas.

5 thoughts on “Chicken Tacos with Mango Salsa

  1. Pingback: Thinking About Food | Peanut-Free Migraine Mom

Leave a Reply

