Ketchup

DSCF5394

I would like to post recipes for food items like ketchup and sausage, because having these items available opens up meal options for migraineurs.  Sausage contains more migraine triggers than I desire to list here, but these triggers are primarily food additives.  Ketchup, as is commonly available at grocery stores, contains tomatoes and onions which can trigger migraines in some people (our migraineurs included).  However, ketchup has not always been made from tomatoes and onions.  In fact,  different cultures use food items such as fish, mushrooms, or walnuts as bases for ketchup recipes.  With this in mind, I realized that I could (again) step out of my food paradigm to consider other options.

Since I really don’t think I can conjure up a desire to dip my sweet potato fries in a puree of fish:), and I am currently not eating mushrooms or walnuts, I searched for other ideas. My daughter found a product called “Nomato Ketchup.”  I was immediately excited about the possibility of a simple solution to my problem!  However, my hopes were dashed when I found out that although tomatoes had been eliminated from the product, cider vinegar and onions were still included.  I needed something that could be called “Nomatonion Ketchup.”

The recipe that we are now using was initially inspired by this tomato-free recipe which seems to be similar to the Nomato Ketchup product.  I have eliminated the onions and changed the types and amounts of vinegar, sweetener, and spices that are used.  This recipe definitely does not taste just like tomato-based ketchups, but I am sticking with my philosophy – it doesn’t have to taste just like__________; it just has to taste good!  And…..it doesn’t taste like fish!

Ketchup

DSCF5394

1 cup carrots, diced
2/3 cup red beets, diced
1/8 cup white vinegar
3 Tbsp. honey
1 tsp. sea salt
1/4 tsp. garlic powder
1/8 tsp. allspice

  1. Boil carrots and beets in water until soft and strain.
  2. Blend all ingredients in a food processor until pureed.
  3. Serve warm or cold.  I freeze my ketchup in 3 portions to use as I need it.  Each of these 3 portions serves 2 people.

Update (6/27/16) – I have started boiling the carrots and beets for 1 hour to get a result that looks more like traditional ketchup.  I think I am getting more carrot color blended in as well as a smoother texture.  Here is what it looks like now:Ketchup cooked longer - 1 hour

One thought on “Ketchup

  1. Pingback: Thinking About Food | Peanut-Free Migraine Mom

Leave a Reply

