Sausage

Most online recipes come with enticing pictures, but I just couldn’t produce a picture of sausage that would represent how tasty it can be.  However, I knew that I wanted to get this post out since having a sausage option has opened up several dishes for our family.  Commercially produced sausage contains so many ingredients that can trigger migraines that we had stopped eating several meals that were easy “go to” meals for us.  I hope to post some of my recipes that use sausage in the future.

The original idea to make my own sausage came from a friend along with a list of potential spices.  The recipe below includes the spices that we like mixed with ground turkey instead of pork.  We usually make several batches and freeze 1/4 pound and 1/2 pound portions so that I can thaw the right amount for any recipe.  Please let me know your favorite way to use sausage.

Sausage

2 lbs. ground turkey
1 tsp. garlic powder
1 1/2 tsp. sea salt
1 1/2 tsp. sage
1/2 tsp. thyme
3/4 tsp. basil
3/4 tsp. oregano
1 tsp. black pepper
1/2 tsp red pepper flakes

  1. Mix all spices together in a small bowl.
  2. In a large bowl, work ground turkey and spices together with hands until well blended.
  3. Refrigerate for 8 to 24 hours before cooking.
  4. I freeze uncooked sausage in 1/4 and 1/2 pound portions for easy use at a later time.

3 thoughts on “Sausage

  1. So you don’t use a casing of any kind? There are a few sausages I can eat (Trader Joe’s is good for some things, but you still have to be careful, lots of triggers).

    Thanks for bringing me over! It sounds like we may have many of the same triggers. Do you find certain spices also trigger you? I can’t do curry, I think both cumin (though dose dependent) and turmeric are the culprits.

    @IsaLeeWolf
    A Bit to Read

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

