Marinara Sauce with Spaghetti Squash and Sausage

DSCF5366

Spaghetti squash is such a blessing!  I still haven’t figured out a migraine-less option for pizza, but here is one for “spaghetti” without a tomato-based sauce.  I make marinara from pepper puree that I also use for other recipes.  So, I make large batches of the puree and freeze it in convenient portion sizes for our 2 migraineurs.  I don’t add spices until I thaw a portion for a particular recipe.  As I work out final versions of my other pepper puree recipes, I will post them as well.

It took some time to work out the spices for this marinara recipe since onions are not included.  Sometimes, I add more garlic or red pepper flakes, but the recipe below is where I start.  If I add sausage to the final dish as shown in the picture above, I use the marinara recipe as written.

Spaghetti Squash - Forking Out

A key to the spaghetti squash is the method of removing it from the peel.  As shown here, I use a fork to pull “spaghetti” strands from the sides.  Once the strands are removed, I use a spoon to scrape remaining squash from the peel.  Since most of the squash can be removed as strands, it ends up resembling spaghetti noodles.

 

Pepper Puree

  • Servings: 4 to 5 cups
  • Print

5 to 6 large red bell peppers

  1. Remove seeds and stems from peppers and cut into large chunks or slices.
  2. Place in a lightly greased 9 x 13 baking dish and cover with aluminum foil.
  3. Bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes or until soft.
  4. Blend peppers and juices in a food processor or blender until smooth.
  5. I freeze 1/2 cup and 1 1/2 cup portions for use in other recipes.

Marinara Sauce with Spaghetti Squash and Sausage

  • Servings: 2 based on sauce
  • Print

DSCF5366

1 spaghetti squash
1 1/2 cups pepper puree
2 tsp. garlic powder
2 tsp. basil
1 tsp. oregano
½ tsp. sea salt
1 tsp. white vinegar
1 tsp. white sugar
sausage (optional)

  1. Cut spaghetti squash into half lengthwise and remove seeds.
  2. Place squash halves peel side down in a baking dish with 1/4 inch of water.
  3. Bake squash for 1 hour at 350 degrees or until squash can easily be removed from the peel with a fork.
  4. Stir spices into pepper puree and serve warm on top of spaghetti squash and sausage.
  5. Non-migraineurs in our family eat the remaining squash with tomato-based sauce.

Leave a Reply

